MYFAROG RPG Delay: Varg Vikernes Arrested! (Anniversary Edition)

Okay, Varg’s been arrested. The French think that he’s planning a massacre. Now, I don’t follow all of what Varg’s up to, but I’m pretty sure he’s been too busy building his house, blogging, working on music and writing an RPG to be planning a massacre. Varg strikes me as being too busy with various personal projects to jeopardize it by planning a massacre.

I guess I should’ve ordered a copy of Forebears sooner than later. And I figured out why all of a sudden I’m getting all of these hits on my old MYFAROG post.

Apparently his wife bought a few guns (legally, I might add; she’s a member of a rifle club), and that was enough to bring the heat down on the couple, and both of them were arrested. The articles are quick to point out that he’s a “convicted murderer”, but don’t forget that, while Varg didn’t do himself any favors in trying to cover it up initially, it was a case of self-defense. Also, the articles have pointed out that “there is no evidence that Kristian Vikernes was formulating any kind of plan.”

Anyway, the whole thing got kicked off apparently because Behring Brevik sent Varg a copy of his manifesto in hopes of finding an ally. Varg basically called Brevik an idiot, but receiving and commenting on it was enough to make French officials worry.

I hope things get straightened out soon. Varg has always been very personable and a generally nice guy to me, and while I heartily disagree with many of his ideas and points of view, I don’t believe that he is personally a threat to anyone.

Update: They don’t have anything on them, but are holding them anyway (probably for political reasons)http://www.euronews.com/2013/07/17/no-target-no-identified-project-as-vikernes-and-his-wife-s-custody-extended/

Also, it should be noted that in the posts in question, Varg specifically said not to do anything illegal in ‘revolt’ against the European status quo.

Update 2: Marie Cachet has been released from custody.

Update 3: Varg has been released, but may be prosecuted for hate speech. http://www.lemonde.fr/societe/article/2013/07/18/la-garde-a-vue-de-l-extremiste-norvegien-kristian-vikernes-levee_3449857_3224.html

Update 4: Varg has an account of the incident, which may be found here.

Update 5: A candid interview with Marie Cachet & Varg Vikernes.

Update 6:  The verdict of Guilty for charges of hate-speech quietly came and went, followed by a few news articles reminding us of Varg’s past, calling him a neo-Nazi (he’s not) and making spurious allegations in an attempt to link him with Breivik.  I’m guessing that since Varg’s most recent update, post verdict, is explaining mechanical changes to his RPG that he’s taking things in stride.

3 responses to “MYFAROG RPG Delay: Varg Vikernes Arrested! (Anniversary Edition)

  1. Pingback: Re: They Thought They Were Free | Cirsova

  2. This was a very down to Earth and factual post about this case. No bullshit.

    They took my hard drives and also all my USB pens, but thankfully I had sent MYFAROG to myself on e-mail, so it was not lost after all. :-)

    PS: I never received anything from Breivik. They just claimed I did to have an excuse to arrest us.

    • Sorry, based on the reports I had read, they made it sound as though you had. I’m sure they’d love for everyone to believe you received a manila envelope labelled ‘Brevik’s Evil Plan’.

      Glad to hear about MYFAROG. I hope that you’re well on your way to getting things back on track.

Leave a Reply

