It’s Done! 1st Draft of City at the Top of the World is Done!

The story is written, the nodes are written, the endings are written.  The main part that’s left is to number and link nodes.

Maybe I got lazy?  I don’t know.  While there are a lot of paths and a lot of endings, several choices funnel into one particular node, but part of that was wanting to avoid the quantum nature of a lot of CYOA type books.  You get captured by the slavers, you end up going to auction.  And I wasn’t going to write totally different slave auctions for every variation on getting captured.  If I were writing classic CYOA style nodes with 50-150 words per node, maybe I would’ve done it differently, but some of these nodes are as long as 700 words.

42 nodes and 12 endings.

Yay.  This is one of the first real writing projects I ever ‘finished’ since I decided not to write a 10th book in the fantasy cycle I’d written when I was in highschool.

2 responses to “It’s Done! 1st Draft of City at the Top of the World is Done!

    • Thanks! I think I may have gotten crap formatted for Lulu. and got all of the “turn to whatevers” done, at least for a print format. It will be a little bit before I send out review copies, partly because I want at least one hard copy for myself to give to my GF, so she can be the first to read it.

Leave a Reply

