God, Wil Wheaton is Such a Piece of Shit

It would bother me less, I think, if my town’s local gaming meetup didn’t put up these stupid “Observe Wheaton’s Law” fliers everywhere with his dumb smiling face. Every time I see it, I think about how he wants to deny women (and everyone) their online anonymity. Every time I see it, I remember the people who’ve been harassed and chased off the internet for voicing their opinions. Every time I see it, I remember that disgusting picture that was sent to Liz F. Every time I see it, I think of how on one hand we’re supposed to listen and habeeb while on the other, there’s Wil calling people liars because they’re not on the WW bandwagon. Every time I see it, I wonder “How can the axiom ‘Don’t be a dick’ be attributed to such a colossal dick?”

4 responses to “God, Wil Wheaton is Such a Piece of Shit

  1. ? That first link appears to go to a post where he made a snarky reply to a question and then apologizes.
    I don’t know much about him but he’s against anonymity? As someone who stopped using fake online names LONG ago and found myself being a lot more reasonable in my comments, I think there is something to be said for owning your online comments. OTOH I’m not living under a repressive regime, part of a group that experiences a lot discrimination, etc. So I wonder what the context of his anti-anonymity stance is. But I’m actually not very interested in celebrity gamers, so I guess this is another shrug post.

    • A kind of half-assed apology filled with loaded insults. Basically, his solution to internet bullying is that no one should be anonymous. Which sounds good until you think about it for half a minute. Anyway, like I said, I think the main reason it bugs me is seeing his stupid face every week at gaming meetups. The whole “Wil Wheaton is watching you” vibe makes it hard to just ignore.

      • Yeah. It was easier to shrug off guys like this being douches before the hit on Liz Fogharty just over a week ago; yeah, people on both sides have been doxxed, but to my knowledge, that’s the first time anyone has brought a person’s children into it. And for whatever reason a lot of women gamergate supporters REALLY want Wil Wheaton to not be a dick about gamergate and had been reaching out to him, but he just can’t help himself.

Leave a Reply

