Some updates

It’s been a cold weekend going into a snowy week.  I haven’t done much productive, but had some stuff to share.

  • I’ll never level up enough to complete the main quest of Daggerfall as my Anthropologist unless I start buying skills from trainers.  I’ll seriously never run into enough Nymphs or Spriggans or Centaurs to get anywhere.  After playing this same character on and off for almost 4 years, I’m still at level 3.  But I’ve did summon the weird tentacle monster god and got the book that let me almost max one of my stats.
  • Racism is a thing in Japan.  Kind of like everywhere.
  • My DM has a Transformers tumblr.
  • William Usher released his 3 part story on the Kaku v. Szczepaniak saga the day after I published my interview with Agness Kaku.  Frankly, it didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know and was rather disappointing, but if anyone is interested in a rather lengthy rehashing of stuff (a lot of which can be read without commentary from the links I provided) that ends in a sales pitch, you can find it here.
  • Foucault’s Pendulum strikes me as the kind of book that Dan Brown wants but is neither well-versed nor eloquent enough to write.
2 responses to “Some updates

  1. I really love a lot of Umberto Eco’s work (especially Misreadings — the essay and the collection published under that title, and Baudolino) but Foucault’s Pendulum was so much work to read I stopped around chapter two. I suppose I’ll get back to it someday.

    • Maybe it’s just because I love medieval history and love weird approaches to structuralism, but I’ve never been so wrapped in a book in which, so far (I’m a little over 100 pages in), next to nothing has happened.

      Baudolino is probably the best fantasy novel ever written.

Leave a Reply

