Looking for Writing Resources & Other Awesomeness

Something that I think would make for a great writing resource would be a fully illustrated encyclopedia of clothing from the ancient world. Or maybe make it a 3 volume set including the middle ages and modern times. Sometimes you have a piece of clothing in mind that you want to name and describe, but you’re damned if you can figure out what it was called or if there’s some sort of real world analogue to which you can compare it. Or you could just make something up.

For instance, Daggerfall has a strange and slinky little thing called an “eodoric”.

That gold thing.

That gold thing.

OED says it’s not a real word/thing, and it’s, uh… certainly not a Doric Chiton. But it would certainly look nice on a Martian princess, right?

Anyway, I’m going to start looking for various resources to cobble together some glorious retro pastiche, and an encyclopedia of dress would be great place to find some really janky and out there ideas for clothing.

I’ve got about 500 words worth of various snippets of dialog, description and action scenes, hoping to get as far away from the direction that the story with Erill & Kara was going as possible. Meantime, I’m going to keep my eye out for stuff to steal. I’m not saying I’m going to plagiarize anything, but I’ll definitely borrow a good turn of phrase of adjective when I come across it.

Speaking of retro, at the surprise party my girlfriend threw me yesterday, one of my friends got me a vintage copy of the Expert box along with two other X modules (Castle of Amber and, I believe, Curse of Xanathon)! I don’t know if I can reasonably cram any of X1-3 into Alfheim, but at some point I’m going to need to convince some folks to let me run it for them.

4 responses to “Looking for Writing Resources & Other Awesomeness

Leave a Reply

