Make it a Table

That’s my modus operandi here.  If I can take stuff that’s embedded in text and make a table out of it, I can’t help but feel like I’m making improvements.

Fire Rates

Luckily, the version of Chainmail I have is the 3rd edition, at which point fantasy rules WERE being incorporated, including mechanics for various monsters and spells which wound up in the more well known versions of D&D.

So, my job is going to be taking what’s there, figuring out how to make it make a little more sense and provide some play examples.  I’m going to use the monster sections from both Moldvay and Cook to translate the monster mechanics, with an focus on what GMs will typically want to use (stuff like greenskin, undead, and some iconic larger monsters).  Like with OD&D, I’ll provide certain options for leader vs. leader combat and leader vs. monster combat that can be used if players want to break off for a round and take a few swings before the chaos of battle whisks them out of range again.  Kind of like how the old Dynasty Warriors games would sometimes cut to one-on-one fighting-game mode when two generals start dueling.

I really want to play this.

11 responses to “Make it a Table

  1. Hey, since tower defense is kind of your thing, is there any chance you might work out defensive structures too? I was skimming Men & Magic and a document discussing the different types of Chainmail combat (e.g. man v. man, troop, and fantasy), and it seems like man/troop/monster v. tower, and tower v. tower would be super awesome.

    –Dither

      • Oh, hey! Remember when you asked me where rolling under a stat came or if it was in the rules? Well, at least in the Basic book, I found it buried in the section on how to wing-it when something isn’t covered by the rules:

        “”There’s always a chance.” The DM may want to base a character’s chance of doing something on his or her ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, and so forth). To perform a difficult task (such as climbing up a rope or thinking of a forgotten clue), the player should roll the ability score or less on ld20. The DM may give a bonus or penalty to the roll, depending on the difficulty of the action (-4 for a simple task to +4 for a difficult one). A roll of 1 should always succeed, and a roll of 20 should always fail.”

      • When you say, “in the Basic book,” are we talking about one of the red books? The Player’s Guide? I found a section called “New Rules and Items” which sounds similar but doesn’t quite say the same thing.

        –Dither

      • Specifically, it’s included in the “Dungeon Mastering as a Fine Art” subsection of Part 8: Dungeon Master Information of the Moldvay Basic red-box rules. Interestingly, this mechanic is not explicitly given a name, nor is it mentioned in the Expert rules.

        It’s basically just an idea thrown out there to give DMs an easy out; it’s sandwiched between an example of why a DM should tell a character they have an infinitesimal chance of surviving doing something stupid and go ahead and give them a roll if they go ahead and do it (2% chance of surviving jumping into a 60′ deep pitch black chasm; if they survive, it’s because there was water or something) and Rule Zero (literally titled “The DM is the Boss”).

      • Dang, my version is Mentzer. Well, I’m glad that little mystery is solved. I really ought to post some development updates on my blog sometime. It’s hard to find the time though — between working on something and trying to nail it down enough to comment on it. :p

        –Dither

      • I know. I’m kind of all over the place in other ways. I’m still writing At the Feet of Neptune’s Queen, doing all sorts of stuff for my Zenopus game, and rewriting Chainmail on top of that. I haven’t had time to do anything BUT try to work stuff out on my blog like a maniac…

  2. All I ask from a miniatures rule set is that it not hurt my feelings when I try to figure out how to make a unit move and shoot the first time. I don’t know why that has to be like pulling teeth or something.

    • Hopefully that’s along the lines of what I’ll accomplish. Here’s what your stuff moves. Here’s the tables you roll on when stuff happens.

Leave a Reply

