Dungeon Crawl Classics

I’m not sure if I can say “I love Dungeon Crawl Classics” because I only got a tiny taste of mechanics; for all I know, once we get into the weeds of level 1, I might hate it. But the funnel. Oh, lordy, the funnel! I could run the meat grinder a hundred times, because it’s so much fun! It really forced me out of my comfort zone of what I’m used to playing and made me love my lousy-statted characters.

My ostler, the only character without stats in the negative, ended up dying, but that’s okay, because he was kind of boring in his averageness. I’ll miss Robin the Miller, with his 1lb sack of flour, brawn over brains problem solving skills and hard drinking bluster. He might’ve been a decent fighter or even a mage; hopefully the snake cultists will be mercifully quick when they sacrifice him. In the end it was Elyse the cutpurse (two negative stats and no positives) who made it out of the dungeon: as an ugly girl who likes ugly things, Elyse befriended some feverlings in the cultists’ menagerie; when the fighting broke out, she snagged keys off the captain, set them free and ran out through the sewers with a gaggle of blood-weeping antlered bird-things.

I probably play female characters 70/30 in video game rpgs (in no small part because ES games start female characters with higher MU-related stats, which are harder to raise than physical stats), but I’ve never played as a female character around the gaming table, so this should be interesting. And hey, no one made any jokes about how her starting item was a small chest! Interestingly enough, we started with 5 male characters and 4 female characters between the three of us, and we left the dungeon with an all female party.

Level 0 DCC feels like one of those few times that one “wins” in a tabletop RPG. Everyone who gets out with one character alive “wins”; if someone gets out with more than one character, I don’t know, they superwin? Like I said, I could play the funnel over and over again.

In other news, I may have been hasty when I pooh-poohed Dragons of Glory simply for being a Dragonlance product*. It’s actually the one product out of the whole lot of them that I might end up playing. Turns out Dragons of Glory isn’t a D&D module but a stand-alone hex & chit wargame that purports to recreate the War of the Lance. It doesn’t use Mentzer or Battle System; it’s actually it’s own game with fairly standard wargame rules with odds charts and column modifiers; the only thing that really makes it stand out is that it uses a d10 instead a d6 to roll on the combat results table. I might actually be able to convince my dad to play this one with me.

As cool as the the Greyhawk folio is, I have no idea what I’ll ever do with it besides maybe frame those giant hex-maps of Oerth.

*My dirty secret is that I LOVED the Dragonlance books as a wee-lad.  It may have been pink slime fantasy, but from ages 10-12, I devoured them.

4 responses to “Dungeon Crawl Classics

  1. Well, on Tuesday (tomorrow), I am going to say “I Love DCC RPG” and I’m going to link to this post as evidence how players can grow attached to those 0-level characters. Ain’t the Funnel wonderful?

    • Thanks! And yeah, it is. The book is so beautiful, too, that I can’t help but want a copy just as an art-piece even if I never end up running it. Next B/X game I run, I’m considering using the “Normal Human” rules and trying the Funnel there. It’s a really different experience, and I can see how it’s not for everybody (particularly players who want to really get into a single character’s role), but it’s a wonderful way to get people over fear of character-death and killing off characters. Honestly, I had so much fun with the Funnel, I’m worried that playing with a single level 1 character will seem like a let-down after the meat-grinder!

      Sorry for rambling, but DCC blew my mind!

  2. Pingback: Blog Watch: Closed Chasms, Crypto-Fascists, Visible Humiliations, and Stereotypical Fantasy | Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

Leave a Reply

