Appendix N Survey Complete

Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

So it’s all up now.

With this piece on Tolkien going up, I’ve done forty-three posts on Appendix N now. I read every book Gygax mentioned by name, at least the first book of each series, and I picked out one representative work for each of the entries that consisted of an author’s name alone. I also wrote about two thousand words on each book.

What’s it like doing something like this…?

Well, it’s a stunt, really. It’s sort of like that guy that spent a year living biblically… or the people that try to give up reading white men for a year. And you know, I had no idea going in what I would really find out, really. (Tolkien was the only author on the entire list that I was even familiar with when I started!)

So what did I discover?

  • Tolkien’s ascendancy was not inevitable. It’s…

View original post 502 more words

Leave a Reply

