Cirsova Issue # 1 Line-up Announcement + Other Updates

I’ve gotten an amazing response from the SFF writing community over the last month and some change. I’m finally ready to announce the contributors to Issue 1 of Cirsova.

The hardest part of this has been holding my tongue until now because of how much I’ve wanted to sing the praises of the Cirsova authors. Seriously, these guys (and gals) rock, are totally amazing and certainly names to be on the look-out for.

Issue one of Cirsova will feature the following:

Short Stories
The Gift of the Ob-Men by Schuyler Hernstrom
This Day, At Tilbury by Kat Otis
Rose by Any Other Name by Brian K Lowe
Late Bloom by Melanie Rees
The Hour of the Rat by Donald Jacob Uitvlugt
At the Feet of Neptune’s Queen by Abraham Strongjohn

Novelette
A Hill of Stars by Misha Burnett

Poetry
My Name is John Carter by James Hutchings

Feature Column
Retrospective: Toyman by E.C. Tubb by Jeffro Johnson

The magazine is moving into phase two now. I’m soliciting artists for the first issue. As much as I would like to offer a fully illustrated first issue, I will probably only be looking at cover art at this time so I can keep the per-issue costs low for readers.

During this time, I’ll be doing some minor layout stuff and calculating available adspace. I will try to keep adspace unintrusive, mostly using it to fill white space between stories with a page or two devoted to potential sponsors.
Hopefully phase two will go as swimmingly as phase one did. Once that’s taken care of, I’ll be moving to phase 3: Kickstarter. When I initiate the Kickstarter for this, I want to have an almost finished product ready; once I get advertisers locked in and their advert images placed, I can go straight to print.  This will NOT be one of those Kickstarter debacles where a project is “almost finished and going to ship soon” for months or years.  Layout will be more or less done, all authors have been paid, the artist will have been paid, things will be almost ready to go BEFORE we Kickstart.  The Kickstarter will be about investing in the FUTURE of the Cirsova zine.  Any profits it makes will go toward making a second issue.

That said, there’s not going to be stretch goals, T-shirts, stickers, secret forums or skype calls; just what I know I can put in your hands: a high quality SFF adventure magazine full of great stories.

In other no less exciting news, in a week, Cirsova will have a guest post by Matthew D. Ryan, author of the excellent Drasmyr books!

4 responses to “Cirsova Issue # 1 Line-up Announcement + Other Updates

  1. Pingback: In the Mail: The Hugo Winners | Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

  2. Pingback: Milestones | Jeffro's Space Gaming Blog

  3. Pingback: End of the Year Roundup | Cirsova

Leave a Reply

