And Now For Something Completely Different: Fanwriter Recommendations!

I saw the first half of the Hunger Games series last night, but rather than blog politics/culture wars two days in a row, I have a better idea: Hugo recommendations!

I’m not listing who I’m nominating, because some of these will come to a coin-toss (not going there, I said I’d stay away from politics!) when I finish my final ballot.  Rather instead, consider these some people who I seriously think are worth checking out:

Sci-fist ( https://scifist.wordpress.com/ ) – This guy does some amazingly in-depth looks at truly rancid classics of sci-fi film, looking not only at the film and the production but everyone who had anything significant to do with it and their careers before and after they worked on whatever schlock-fest he’s reviewing.

Charles Akins / Dyvers (http://dyverscampaign.blogspot.com/) – Charles has done a great service to the gaming community by curating the Great Blog Roll Call; I only wish he’d been able to do more Best Reads of the Week in 2015, but keeping up with a community of that size, finding and spotlighting the best AND creating your own quality content is a daunting task.

Douglas Ernst (http://douglasernstblog.com/) – Doug Ernst writes about culture wars and Spider-man; he’s in Dan Slott’s head big-time.  In fact, the antagonism between these two is one of the most entertaining ongoing reads online today!

Jeffro Johnson ( https://jeffro.wordpress.com / https://www.castaliahouse.com ) – Jeffro’s a knight-errant on a chivalric quest to find and shine a light on old and sometimes near-forgotten science fiction.  I’ve checked out more authors on his recommendation than nearly anyone else, because his enthusiasm is so contagious, and I’m very happy that I have.

Ron Edwards (http://adeptpress.wordpress.com) – This guy knows comics.  His pieces on silver-age through early modern comics, the zeitgeist certain titles capture and the cultural shifts reflected in them makes for some of the most fascinating reading on the web.

Planetary Defense Commander (https://planetarydefensecommand.wordpress.com/) – The quantity of SF this guy covers is amazing.  He’s one of the few people I’ve seen on wordpress really hitting the magazines hard to look at what’s going on in the SF short fiction world.

Zenopus Archives (http://zenopusarchives.blogspot.com) – I don’t use many homebrewed tools in my games, but when I do, they’re from Zenopus Archives!  His love of the Holmes edition has certainly rubbed off on me.  He’s reaching the end of the massive undertaking of going over the Holmes manuscript with a fine-toothed comb, comparing it to the published version of Holmes Basic, spotting and sourcing differences, and creating a treasure trove of old-school fantasy bits on the side.

 

 

5 responses to “And Now For Something Completely Different: Fanwriter Recommendations!

  1. In general, I’d like to see the fan return to fan writer, instead of it going to a writer or editor in the field. Too many pros in what should be an amateur event. (Don’t get me started about the Olympics…) I’m glad to see lists like this one because of it. I’m a firm believer that some of the best criticism and fan activities is not happening in the con crowd, but on blogs and forums on the net, doublely so after being introduced to this blog and other gaming blogs through Jeffro’s writings.

    • Thanks! Y’know, I can’t help but think that the category sprung from the sort of thing that mags like Planet Stories were doing; each issue, people were allowed to vote on their favorite letter to the editor from the previous issue and the winner got sent an original interior art piece. It was literally fans voting for their favorite fellow-fan.

      These days, it would be the equivalent of best internet commenter, I think, but blogs certainly qualify too, since it’s a look at fandom as a whole rather than one pub or one site’s fandom. Someone who didn’t have a blog but only commented on other blogs or posted in forums would absolutely qualify as well, though being decentralized as such would put them at a disadvantage.

Leave a Reply

