SyFy Has Done a Thing

Suey Park riding that ruin to her own TV special!

jake-laughing-o

Nice job, SyFy, on bringing the Navy Seal sniper copypasta to life.

At no point does Suey realize that the sort of thing that happened to her is what happens to the people she and those like her have targeted (Matt Taylor and Richard Dawkins both spring to mind).  Lots of people get brigaded for wrong think or being un-PC, and Suey and people like her are often leading the charge.  Online death threats and harassment are wrong and terrible and in no way condonable, but man, the lack of self-awareness just makes me face-palm.  I would’ve liked to hear her say “As an online activist with nearly 20 thousand followers, this made me stop and think ‘have I been responsible for sending hate mobs after people when I call them out?'”

With a 20-1 downvote ratio and SyFy delisting the vid, I’ll bet the chances are slim we’ll be seeing much more of this unless the people at the network who greenlit this really want it to be the cross they martyr themselves on.

Update:
I think I found some deleted scenes

6 responses to “SyFy Has Done a Thing

  1. Reminds me that there was an ad on tele in which a seal with navy on its shirt was playing cod and got distracted. Entirely unrelated just the whole copypasta makes me think of that. Quite amusing too.

  2. This is where she went hilariously wrong, she said she didn’t want cancel colbert yet in the interview she remained in character? does she understand how easily manipulated people are these days, especially in regards to modern activism.

    • I just now was reminded of the backtracking of Everybody Draw Muhammad Day girl who is still in hiding to this day, to my knowledge.

      But yeah, activism basically IS brigading against individuals or entities; she’s not a very good internet activist if she doesn’t get this. “I didn’t want to cancel Colbert; I just wanted to set a rallying point for angry people on the internet.”

      ::inb4 ‘wut about gamergate?’::

      • I think to some extent Gamergates approach depends largely on who it is. Most of it is emails, Hashtags and at least some of investigation. It all depends on how you handle opposite views in the end.

      • Yeah. In most of the cases, with individuals, it’s highlighting stupid someone had said (like #FullMcIntosh). To be fair and honest, one has to be okay with both #CancelColbert and #FullMcIntosh (which I am), though mockery and making one a figure of fun is not the same as calling for one’s job or for one to be silenced.

Leave a Reply

