The Guns of August, The Lost City, Issue 3 & 4 and More

I feel like most of my posts lately have been about “cool news” rather than cool posts.  Hopefully that will change once the 2016 submission period ends, but consider this a post of cool news about (hopefully) upcoming cool posts.

Last night, my dad and I set up Avalon Hill’s Guns of August.  OMG, this looks like it’s gonna be amazing!  August 1914, and nearly 200 cardboard Germans, French, British, Russians, Austro-Hungarians, Serbians, Italians, Bulgarians, Dutch, Belgians and Turks are just waiting to be thrown into the most horrifying meat-grinder of a conflict the world has ever seen.  After Conflict Games’ Imperium and GTD’s Napoleon’s Italian Campaigns, I’m ready to play something really good.

Our DCC game may or may not take a break soon; even though I’ve been absolutely loving DCC, this might give me a chance to run The Lost City, which my DM friend gave me for my birthday last year.  If Blueholme Journeymann is out in time, I’d like to consider running it with that.  If not, I’ll probably use my go-to hybrid of B/X with Holmes’ magic rules.  A part of me is tempted to actually run things entirely by the book, but I don’t think anyone would be happy not ever rolling any of their own dice.  As it is, I’m mulling over treating the Optional Variable Weapon Damage rules as just that – Optional.  I can’t wait for magic users to have to figure out what the heck they’re going to do with their giant spell books while adventuring!

Probably by the end of next week, I’ll be ready to announce the line-up of Issue 3.  Like last time, if you haven’t heard from me, it’s because I either just received your story or your story is still in consideration for Issue 4.  In the last week and a half, Cirsova Publishing has cut about $1.2k in checks to writers.  Would not be surprised if come first week of May, we pay out again that much.  If you’ve been mulling over buying a copy of Cirsova #1, now would be a great time to order a copy.  Sales will help us be able to buy more stories.

Talking about Thieves the other day made me break out Thief again, so I may be talking some about that.

With Castalia House back up, my interview with Joe Stech has been moved over there.

Next Friday, I’ll be talking about Mists of Mars.

Leave a Reply

