Monday Morning and I am Exhausted: River City Comic Expo Decompression Post

My first con was okay, I guess. I sold 4 things the first day. The second day was a bit better, but mostly because I was giving stuff away for free and had a tip jar out.  I got rid of several of the records and CDs that have been cluttering my spare bedroom for years, but I’ve still got hundreds left. Next time, I’ll bring fewer boxes. If I pretend like the tips I got were sales, and I don’t count the CDs/LPs which I really just kind of want to throw away, I ended up moving the magazine at a not-unreasonable per issue discount.

One of the surprising things was at least a few of the people who grabbed CDs/LPs actually knew who the STDs were; “They’re making a documentary, you know.” “Yeah, I’m probably in it.”

There was a panel in which “gamergate” was mentioned in the description which I skipped (busy at a booth, don’t ya know), but would be moderately interested in seeing if there was any video of it.

The only comment anyone made on my Chuck Tingle Legends of Science Fiction was a strange elderly man stopped me to point out that the list was missing Bradbury and Heinlein.

It was fun people watching, especially with all of the cosplayers.  Best cosplayer, hands down, was this guy who was wearing a big flip-top trashcan with pictures of anime girls taped to it and a banner on the front that said “Your Waifu”.

I didn’t meet (I kinda hate fanboying), but I did see Neal Adams and Nichelle Nichols.  At 83, Nichelle still looked great and seemed to be having a good time. I did get to give Sara Frazetta a copy of issue 2 with Ku’s cover, so that was neat.

The real highlight of the convention was finding out that there’s a pretty prolific pulp publishing company based out of the small town I went to college in.  I need to get to know those guys better, for sure.  I talked to Tyree Campbell, one of the writers on their imprint who was from De Moines, during setup the day before the con started.  I picked up one of his books to read through at my table, and liked it so much that when I’d finished it by 2 on Saturday I picked up the second one.  I hope the gin company doesn’t try to clamp down on him, because I’m really digging “Bombay Sapphire”.

51F6lJzPo9L

 

To anyone considering doing a booth at a con, my advice is get a con-buddy.  My girlfriend thinks she didn’t help out any, but being able to stretch your legs and use the bathroom without having to take your cashbox and register tablet with you is priceless.

The bad news is, I was an unlucky 3rd car in a pretty bad accident just before loading into the con on Friday.  The good news is, all I need is a new front bumper and a bad scuff polished out of my hood.  It just sucks that I’ll have to do the whole run-around on actually getting everything taken care of and all the paperwork dealt with.  At least this time I won’t be without a car for any length of time, but cash on hand may be a bit stretched until the claim is settled.  Also, kitty cat had already been dropped off at home before we were hit; she got a shot and the butt thermometer and was pretty miffed, but after her course of painkillers she’s back to her crazy, bouncy, tear up the curtains self.

Thanks to those who have pledged to the Kickstarter over the weekend and those who’ve had good things to say about the first issue.  Also, Frisky Pagan’s review of Thune’s Vision was a nice pick-me-up during the many long dull spells at the con.  We’re getting pretty close to our initial goal for issue 2.  I’d like to get up to some of the stretch goals for illustrations – folks who thumbed through the issues seemed rather disappointed there weren’t illos, and one kid and an adult (at different times) were sad it wasn’t a coloring book, but illustrations are high cost content.  If we get enough people who are willing to buy and read for the stories, I will better be able to accommodate people who would buy and read for the pictures.

One response to “Monday Morning and I am Exhausted: River City Comic Expo Decompression Post

Leave a Reply

