TL;DR on the (Presumed) Relationships Between Content Creators

This is a really fascinating phenomenon that TL;DR looks at.  While this latest video may have in part been inspired by the strong differing opinions among popular youtubers regarding Brexit, this is something that happens rather often and on a wide variety of subjects.  Early in Gamergate, there were some rather cartoonish incidents when streamers that ‘everyone knew’ didn’t know each other that were particularly memorable (RogueStar showing up on one of Vee’s streams or that time Sargon said to a somewhat tittering and starstruck Iribrise that she sounded like a dick on the IAxit stream.)

Fans of content creators often feel that those creators they’re fans of should get along, because if their content appeals to that fan, then those creators must have lots of other stuff in common, too!  Where it gets dicey is when there is an underlying assumption by these creators’ fanbases that, because they have something in common and because they share fans, those content creators are buddy buddy for reals, or at least can easily get one another on the horn.

We also see this in the gaming blog community, and it is exacerbated in part by the fact that a lot of us are in contact with one another to some degree, whether through blog comments or G+, and our pages are often two or three link-thrus away from each other on our sidebars.  But the truth is, a lot of us don’t actually know one another, don’t actually talk to one another regularly and may not even get along even when we should according to this or that checkbox on your checklist of reasons you follow us.*

Anyway, check out TL;DR’s vid.

*::is not actually on the horn with any loud ‘conservative’ gaming consultants or important alt-right enfants terribles::

8 responses to “TL;DR on the (Presumed) Relationships Between Content Creators

  1. Good observation. I’ve felt in kind of an opposite way about some political podcasters/commentators recently —

    Through Steven Crowder I discovered Ben Shapiro and Milo Yiannopoulos. I started off liking Milo because he really took it to the PC crowd, and I’m still a huge fan of Shapiro. Milo really took off with the alt-right, though, in the same way Trump has. He plays to them, and though he has the right enemies, he also has become antagonistic to conservatives, especially those who refuse to support Trump (including Shapiro, though the two used to be allies). It’s really become kind of disgusting.

    Anyway, I know what you’re talking about because part of me wishes Crowder would denounce Milo, but it’s unreasonable of me to expect a falling out there just because Milo lost my respect. Projection of a sort, I suppose.

    At annnny rate. If you’re ever in the DC area, let’s grab a beer and talk about pulp SFF and Japan and stuff! =D

    • Shapiro lost me when he doubled down on the Michelle Fields scam. Though I don’t really consider myself alt-right, I understand why folks are ready to throw Conservatives under the bus; of course when they say that, most aren’t talking about conservatives as in the conservative base but as in the conservative egg-head intelligencia that hasn’t accomplished or conserved anything; folks like Billy Kristol who are still all “Derp derp, maybe I can get John McCain nominated for President, cuz that was a great idea last time!” So yeah, I totally get the hate and desire to ‘burn down the house’, so to speak.

      But yeah, if I’m ever up that way, absolutely, I’d love to! It may be awhile, since I’m right in the middle of the country (yet somehow not really close to anything or anyone it seems sometimes!)

    • I’m not a fan of the Alt Right and disagree with Milo on some things to quite a large extent but also admire him.

    • TL;DR is one of the few youtubers I follow who hasn’t (to my recollection) jumped the shark on any particular issues where I’ve thought, ‘whoa, hey, wait a minute now, what’s going on here?’

  2. I dunno, you may be right, but I’ve sparred with Trump-loving alt-righters who mean conservatives as in people who support free-trade, are pro-life, and small government. On Twitter I’ve been called a globalist, a traitor, and that abortion isn’t important in the face of illegal immigration. I’m sure they’re not representative of his whole angry base and that’s purely anecdotal, but that’s where I’m coming from. We conservatives are angry, too; I think Cruz was a perfect vessel for our cause, but that’s long over with now. Instead we have two liberal, crony capitalists who represent many of the same evils that got us where we are today.

    The Michelle Fields incident was messy and overblown, for sure. I think the whole thing was stupid and messily handled, and it was exacerbated by the fact that Trump and his campaign refuse to apologize for anything. A simple “Sorry about that” probably would have ended the whole thing without any further drama. As for Shapiro, he did harp on it a lot, but I definitely understand him wanting to stand up for a friend he believes was physically wronged, especially being that she’s a woman.

    Anyway, sorry for diving so deep into a political tangent. If you’d like to discontinue here or have the last word, either sounds good to me.

    And I think it’s a good thing that you’re mid-country; the coasts are rotten and will be the first to collapse in on themselves.

    • Nah, it’s fine. I guess I can’t really speak to much to or for the alt-right as, though some folks might consider me, I’m not really a part of. Hell, I was a Walker guy.

      But remember how folks were all “When I heard Obama give that speech at the DNC, I knew he would be the next president”? When I saw Donald Trump retweet a Pepe the Frog meme, I knew he would be the next president.

      After the ups and downs in my life over the last 8 years, I think I may be ready to embrace (or at least be prepared for) discordianism.

      • Ahhh, Walker. I liked him, too. I was really disappointed when he dropped out of the primary. Dang, feels like years ago now.

        I guess we’ll get the leader our country deserves. I’ve really got to move to a (at least somewhat) red state so I can start shoring up my 2nd Amendment rights. =P

Leave a Reply

