Throwback SF Thursday: Cirsova vol. 1

Every Day Should Be Tuesday

In my post announcing my Throwback SF Thursday series, I mentioned that there seems to be a resurgence in interest in old-style speculative fiction.  Cirsova was front-and-center in my mind when I thought of Retro SF.  But I hadn’t read.  Now I have and I can tell you just how damn good it is.  I only sort of vaguely know what to expect from diving into the pulps, but this?  THIS is the sort of thing I want to read.  (And, frankly, it’s better than GRRM’s Old Venus, stable of SF stallions notwithstanding.)

(On a scheduling note, I have Cirsova issue #2 in hand and can’t wait to dig in.  I’m tabling a review of Old Venus until I start Burrough’s Venus series, which is what I’m picking up next.  I may write on some stuff I’ve read previously.  And Skelos issue #1 is supposed to show up…

View original post 718 more words

Leave a Reply

