Issue 5 2nd Round Edits Are In: Handing Off to Beta Readers Soon

It never ceases to amaze me how much stuff gets by my on my first editing pass. I went through multiple pens correcting manuscripts before passing them off to Mark and Xavier, and I still get back things that make me feel like some kind of illiterate – it’s absolutely embarrassing! But the quality of the magazine has gone way up since those guys have stepped up to do deep edits for us, so the embarrassment is worth it, and I can’t thank them enough.

Once I get the last of their corrections incorporated to the workfiles, I’ll be passing them along to our beta readers, who have also been a tremendous help – they’ve all found things we’ve all missed, and amazingly enough, each one has found different things! With the longer lead-in time, we’ll have had an extra round of edits before passing them along to beta readers, so the quality should be way up this year on that front.

We’re a little over half-way towards our goal!  If you haven’t already pledged, you still have plenty of time to do so.

Leave a Reply

