Comics & Comics

For various reasons, I did not have the car on Saturday, but I decided to take a stroll to my local comic book store because I didn’t want to miss Free Comic Book Day.

I walked 4 miles. And the Free Comics were all trash.

Well, maybe they weren’t all trash, but the either looked like trash or just weren’t anything I was interested in. And I did get there kinda late. And some folks have shown me stuff that I might have grabbed if it were there.

But it was mostly the usual Indie & mid-list suspects and surprisingly little offering from either Marvel or DC (not one, but two DC Girls).

Regardless of whether any of the Free Comics were worth grabbing, it was a good opportunity to shoot the breeze with Michael Tierney, whose new Edgar Rice Burroughs 100 Year Art Chronology will be coming out in a couple of weeks.

I did end up reading a few graphic novels my GF snagged from the library, though, so my Free Comic weekend was not comic free.

The Time Museum – Matthew Loux

This one was pretty fun. A super-smart, geeky girl learns that her uncle is the curator of the museum of Earth, a repository of all Earth’s knowledge and science that exists outside of normal time. The museum staff travel through time to collect and preserve, and the geeky girl is invited to be part of the competition with several other youths from Earth’s history for an internship with the museum.

It reminded me a bit of some of the earlier Gunnerkrigg stuff, but with a faster pace. All of the characters had their endearing charms and at no point did the super-smart, geeky girl come across as an abrasive know-it-all, nor was there the sort of over-the-top, in-your-face girl-power attitude that you often see creeping into characters in the smart geek girl trope.

Nah, this one was really good, and I’m already looking forward to the next volume.

Lumberjanes 6: Sink or Swim –  Shannon Watters and Kat Leyh

Lumberjanes is something whose premise is something I should theoretically like, but I’ve never been impressed by it. Here, I’d given it another chance to see if it had gotten any better. At least so far as I’m concerned, it hasn’t.

A camp councilor, who is a sailor and a werewolf, has her ship captured by selkies who think she’s stolen one of their skins.

I can’t quite put my finger on why I find this title disagreeable, but the characters, the story, and the action just always falls flat. Despite the slew of supernatural in the woods around the camp, the stakes feel low, the danger not immediate or compelling, and the resolutions predictable.

Glitterbomb – Jim Zub

A washed up actress struggling to find work is taken over by an alien entity and takes bloody revenge on her agent, the Shatner expy who raped her and forced her to leave what was supposed to be her big-break role on not-Star Trek, and the Hollywood backstabbers who showed up to his memorial gala.

For whatever reason, this comic was more enjoyable that I was able to make it sound in that summary. It was dark, downbeat, and depressing, but they managed to capture some real character pathos and evoke some real sympathy in a fairly short story. It reminded me a bit of Locke & Key, but not quite as fun (because it wasn’t an adventure) and not quite as dark (lotta kids die pretty brutal deaths in Locke & Key).

Supposedly, Glitterbomb is ongoing, but I’m not sure how, given how this one ends.

 

Leave a Reply

