Things Seem Like They’re Slow, but There’s Really a Lot Going On!

I haven’t been blogging as much as usual. This isn’t because of a lack of motivation or ideas so much as a lack of time and energies being focused on other areas.

I’m reading a lot of comics right now, but I’m always hesitant to turn it into blog-fodder, in part because I’m going to be writing about stuff really behind the curve. Except you could say the same thing about the sci-fi and gaming I write about, since I’ve mostly been playing RPGs from the 70s/80s and reading pulp from the 40s. So, comics from the 80s wouldn’t really be all that out of place! I’m just not sure that “ermegerd, Who’s Black and White, and Blonde All Over? is the worst thing ever; somebody let Mark Beachum know that vulvas don’t stick out from behind through clothes like that” would be a great blog post, and I’m sure you guys will get sick of me talking about the Outsiders real quick. I’m sure a few of you already are.

I know that there’s also a lot of stuff going on with the PulpRev cats right now (who just put out a sampler), but I’m always hesitant to review works of anybody who I know or who may have also shelled out money in the past or might in the future for ad space. So, uh… I probably won’t be posting too many PulpRev reviews (sorry!), but I’ll be sure to shill for your releases (or at least retweet you) on twitter.

As for the magazine, I’ve been hard at work on the next two issues. I’m in the process now of commissioning artwork for Issues 7 & 8. Issue 7 is undergoing another round of line edits and is in the hands of a prospective copy editor, and first round edits for Issue 8 have been completed. There are some REALLY GOOD STORIES in both of these, and I’m already chomping at the bit, wishing I could share them with you right away, but alas, we must stick to the release schedule!

Finally, I must say so long to my editor at Castalia House, Jeffro Johnson. He’s stepped down as site editor for time reasons, and he will be much missed. Morgan Holmes has taken over duties for the time being, and Morgan is a solid guy and great, well-versed fan of classic SFF, so I’m sure he’ll do a great job. I’ll still be doing Short Reviews for the site for the time being and have no immediate plans to do otherwise.

In the meantime, please support us by buying issues you might have missed, or if you have all of our issues, consider buying some merch! We don’t move near enough merch…

6 responses to “Things Seem Like They’re Slow, but There’s Really a Lot Going On!

    • Soon, I hope!
      I really wish that self-pub/POD platforms like Amazon and Lulu had better pre-order options (or any at all).
      I’ll be putting together the pre-order page in the next week or so. I’ve just now got the ball rolling on art for issue 7.

    • I really need to get back to some more Vance. I have a first edition of The Space Pirate that I really have been meaning to get to. Right now, I’m splitting my non-comics, non-vidya time between King of Elfland’s Daughter, Reptilian Wanderer, and Time Life’s Barbarossa entry on their million volume 3rd Reich series.

      • I am not familiar with The Space Pirate, but I look forward to your thoughts when you get to it. I recently inherited a couple small Vance books from Nathan Alexander (Gitabushi)…not sure when I’ll get to them, though. So much to read!

        How is the Dunsany so far? That one’s been on my list for quite some time.

Leave a Reply

