Where do I keep getting these assumptions about how magic works in D&D?
I was brushing up, looking at the Magic Users class section in Blueholme, a Holmes clone, when I realized I had it wrong again. I cannot be possibly be trusted to know what I’m talking about in matters of mechanics in B/X apparently.
“A magic-user is not necessarily able to learn and transcribe all spells of that level into his book. This is determined by the magic-user’s Intelligence score, as detailed in the table below. A magic-user only gets one chance to figure out each spell; if he cannot learn it then, he never will.
“Minimum denotes the fewest spells a magic-user will know for that level. Before the player makes any of the d% rolls for “chance to learn”, the referee will randomly choose this many spells from the spell list for that level and inform the player that his character already knows those spells.
“Every time a new level of spells is acquired, and after the referee has picked the minimum spells, the player should roll a d% for each remaining spell of that level; if he rolls equal to or less than the chance listed, then his character has that spell in his magic book.” – Blueholme Prentice, pg 11
Yeah, I totally remember the whole “start with a minimum # of spells in your spellbook at level 1 and then roll for the rest of them” part. What I did not remember was repeating the process every time you unlocked a new tier of spells. You hit level 3, you suddenly know as many as a dozen level 2 spells without ever having to find them. W… T… F!?
Where do your new spells come from? Certainly not from finding scrolls and stealing spellbooks! God, now I need to start digging through OSRIC to figure out where I came up with this idea.
“Magic users do not gain bonus spells for high intelligence scores; intelligence does determine which spells they can understand and how many spells they may learn for each spell level.
Magic users are dependent upon their spell books, and normally may only cast spell they have learned from these books (exception: magic users may cast spells from arcane magical scrolls). Mages may not cast spells from divine, druidic or phantasmal magic scrolls. The acquisition of a new spell is difficult and demanding and must normally be accomplished through adventuring, although the mage will automatically receive one new spell of the highest spell level that he or she may cast upon acquiring a new level of experience.
Magic users may memorise and cast arcane spells in accordance with the tables provided below. A beginning magic user character will know four spells. One of these will automatically be Read Magic. The second spell should be chosen by the player from the list of first level spells, and the last two should be determined randomly from the list of first level spells.” – OSRIC Page 16
Huh! Okay, so I’m not totally crazy and that IS a thing in a version of Dungeons & Dragons somewhere! So, all this time, I’d been conflating multiple rule sets in my mind based on a combination of half-remembered 1e games from highschool, video games and context of ‘how it ought to be’ via on my understanding of Vance. Yet even here in OSRIC, it does not explicitly state that MUs can acquire spells by copying scrolls into their spellbooks. The only place I am 100% certain that this was the case was in that crappy Neverwinter Nights compy game from over a decade ago.
Apparently, I’ve been using Holmes’ spell book (the physical item, that is) and scroll rules, smeared with some Moldvay (I typically gave 1st level MUs 2 spells, including Read Magic), but used a half-assed version (no need to roll % chance) of AD&D’s rules for learning new spells from scrolls & other spell books with some minute differences.
At some point, I may need to do an in-depth look at Read Magic and its implications across all editions!